Every day for this past week – the first week of school at RTHS – I reacted differently when my alarm went off at 6:40 a.m.  But a trend developed.

Monday: Yeah! I’m ready to go! Let’s do this! (It probably helped that I hadn’t slept much from being so excited.)

Tuesday: First day of class, baby!  Up and at ’em!

Wednesdsay: Oh, just ten more minutes. (hits snooze button)

Thursday: NO WAY IT’S MORNING ALREADY. (pounds snooze button… twice)

Friday: HA! I don’t have to get up yet!  Suck it, alarm clock! (turns off alarm clock and slaps it across the room)

Okay, so I cheated.  I’m in Maryland for my friend Christopher’s wedding, so I didn’t work yesterday since I had to be up here for the wedding rehearsal.  But even with a four-day week, it was very apparent that my teacher stamina needs a little work.

I think most teachers know what I’m talking about.  The first week of school is always draining; besides the procedural stuff that has to be done to get the year underway, teaching for hours a day for the first time in 2-3 months is a challenge.  Your feet hurt, your voice gets scratchy from all the talking you’re not used to doing, and by the time the kids leave, you’re just zapped.

Of course, I’m not coming off a two-month layoff from teaching.  I’m coming off a two-year layoff.

I know it’s going to get much better.  After a lot of introductory stuff in class that’s more teacher-centered than I would prefer, we’re about to settle in to teaching actual history with our student-centered, project-based model, so I’ll be doing more monitoring and helping than the typical history teacher that disseminates knowledge for an hour.  When that starts, I’m hoping that I don’t have to go home and grab a nap right after school, like I did two days this past week.  The cross country team has begun practice, and I’d like to get out there and run with them from time to time.  It’ll also help to have things in the classroom settled and prepared; I stayed until after 7:00 twice this past week and I’m certainly hoping that doesn’t become commonplace.

So this weekend, I’m going to enjoy this wedding, have a good time, and forget about teaching for a day or two.  And by the time 6:40 on Monday morning rolls around, maybe my alarm clock won’t take such a beating.

